Honorary Awards

They have in common a desire to share knowledge and shape dermatology–its study and research, its practice, and its care of patients. Their distinctive contributions to dermatology set them apart, and DF pays tribute to them through its Honorary Awards Program.

There are four award categories— Lifetime Career Educator, Practitioner of the Year, Clark W. Finnerud Award, and the Distinguished Service Award, which has been presented only four times in the last 40 years.

2022 recipients of a DF Honorary Award are Dr. Victoria Werth, Lifetime Career Educator; Dr. William Sawchuk,  Practitioner of the Year; Dr. Valerie Callender, Clark W. Finnerud Award; and Dr. Jerry Krueger, Distinguished Service Award.

In this issue, we present Lifetime Career Educator Dr. Victoria Werth and Practitioner of the Year, Dr. William Sawchuk.

Watch this space for profiles of Clark W. Finnerud Award recipient Dr. Valerie Callender, and Distinguished Service Award recipient Dr. Gerald Krueger.

The Translational Educator

Listening to Dr. Victoria Werth lecture in dermatology is like taking a master class —one where you hang onto every word and commit to developing your career with as high a degree of intention as she has.

A Practice of Care

Dr. William Sawchuk first learned about dermatology when he was a boy and his brother needed treatment for a severe case of acne. The family met with the local dermatologist, a hardship for a blue-collar family, who provided the necessary treatment.